LET Reviewer General Education GenEd: English Part 1

In this website you will find the LET Reviewers in General Education (Gen Ed), Professional Education (Prof Ed) and Major Area of Specialization.

In efforts of this portal to attend on requests from PRCBoard Facebook fan page members, we consolidated some of the questions which may likely help out takers during the exams.


RELATED ARTICLES:

Below is the LET Reviewer for General Education GENED: English Part 1. We encourage readers/ reviewees to use the comment boxes after the article for discussion.

1. Robert Frost wrote the poem Acquainted with the Night from which the stanza is taken:

I have been one acquainted with the night.
I have walked out in rain-back in rain.
I have out walked the farthest city light

The poet in the stanza talks of?
a. isolation and loneliness
b. joy getting out of the house
c. youthful delight playing in the rain
d. happiness in having been acquainted with the night

2. Which is the BEST WAY to write the underlined portion of this sentence? Researchers also speculate that some teachers might have given boys more computer time because parents and teachers expected boys to need computers for future careers.
a. expected
b. expecting
c. will expect
d. will have expected

3. The wounded soldiers were visited by the president who honoured them with ____ for their _____.
a. medals – valor
b. gun salute – bravery
c. appointments – dedication
d. money – sacrifice

4. Every June, Manila has its festival of outstanding Filipino films. This was a project initiated by
a. Arsenio Lacson
b. German Moreno
c. Antonio Villegas
d. Ramon Bagatsing

5. Which among the sounds below is voiceless?
a. /b/
b. /z/
c. /g/
d. /p/

6. “Only the heart can see rightly.” This statement is lifted from what particular novel?
a. The Prince and the Pauper
b. The Little Prince
c. The Right One
d. The Pearl

7. He was the American President who said, “Ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.”
a. Gerald Ford
b. Franklin Roosevelt
c. Henry Truman
d. John F. Kennedy

8. History is the witness that ______ passing of time.
a. testifies
b. will testify
c. testifies for
d. testifies for the

9. When I met Liza yesterday, it was the first time I _____ her since Christmas.
a. saw
b. had seen
c. have seen
d. have been seen

10. The commander ordered his men to hold on the fort. What was the message?
a. Surrender in arms
b. Keep on with the fight
c. Disregard the peace negotiation
d. Rescue the hostage victims fast and early

11. “She is a vision of feminine pulchritude.” This stands for the following EXCEPT
a. Loveliness
b. Comeliness
c. Homeliness
d. Physical beauty

12. The Nibelungenlied is a
a. Latin Myth
b. Chinese legend
c. Russian folk song
d. Medieval German epic


13. An association wherein the name of something is substituted by something that represents it.
a. Metonymy
b. Comparison
c. Euphemism
d. Personification


14. Because the moon rotates on its axis at the same time as it ______ around the earth, we see the same side
a. Revolve
b. Revolves
c. Is revolving
d. Has been revolving


15. In English verse, a poetic foot having 1 stressed syllable followed by 1 unstressed syllable is ______.
a. Trochaic
b. Iambic
c. Dactylic
d. Anapaestic


16. Senators were accused by activists of washing their hands with the perfumes of Arabia. This state is commonly known as
a. Guilt
b. Triumph
c. Indecision
d. Aggression


17. It is a collection of religious poetry written by Rabindranath Tagore.
a. Mahabharata
b. Gitanjali
c. The Ramayana
d. Bhagavad Gita

18. I suggest that he _____ in the room for one week.
a. Stay
b. Stayed
c. Staying
d. Stays


19. The manager told his workers, “We have to reduce our workforce.” What did he mean?
Workers are free to leave
Workers are warned of possible lay off
Workers have to double time on their jobs
Workers should submit themselves to a reducing gym


20. The parent remarked, “__________ I come late, just lock the door.”
a. In the absence
b. In the process
c. In the event
d. In the case


21. The copyreader found the news story boring. He found it full of _____.
a. Adjectives
b. Verbs
c. Pronouns
d. Adverbs


22. There were three guests on the stage. They were made up of a parent, the governor and the principal. Who should be acknowledged first by the valedictorian?
a. The classmates
b. The principal
c. The governor
d. The parent


23. What is suggested in the opening line? June 13, 1986 – they came from all over America – 200,000 heroes strong, with their families.
a. The writer holds great admiration for the veterans
b. The writer is opposed to the Vietnam War
c. The writer was a veteran of the war
d. The writer is a flag-waving patriot


24. A readability mismatch happens when the reading levels of books exceed the reading levels of the students. In this situation, the students experience frustration and they fall short of the expected or desired output. A student who finds himself/ herself in such a mismatch will likely do which of the following?
a. Give an intelligent critique of the selection or story read
b. Write a comprehensive reaction paper regarding the selection or story read
c. Present an argument that the selection or story read was not properly written
d. Manifest an expected and commensurate emotional reaction to the selection or story read


25. What does this mean: Excuses are for losers… those who take responsibility for their actions are real winners in life. This tells of?
a. losers often fail because they find reasons for losing
b. a winner can also be a quitter
c. accountability of one’s action tells of bravery
d. excuses are needed to justify any failure


26. A couple accepted a wedding invitation. They showed pleasure in these remarks
a. All guests congratulated the organizers and the couple
b. Guests came in and out of the ceremonies
c. The ceremonies were very impressive
d. The couple felt uneasy with the priest


27. What correction should be made to this sentence?
One of the theories is that the first child receives more of the parents’ attention than other children so first-borns tend to be more intellectual.
a. Change is to are
b. Insert a comma after children
c. Change parents’ to parent’s
d. Change theories to theory’s


28. Carl Sundburg wrote “Jazz Fantasia” which has for its first stanza:

Drum on your drums, batter on your banjos, sob on the long cool winding saxophones. Go to it, O jazzmen.

Which words illustrate alliteration?
a. Batter and banjos
b. Sob and winding
c. Long and cool
d. To and it


29. What is meant by AT SIXES AND SEVENS in this sentence?

We moved into the house last week, but I’m afraid everything, is still at sixes and sevens.

a. The things have not been shipped.
b. In a state of confusion
c. In an orderly manner
d. The boxes are still intact


30. What is the mood of these lines?

Daylight, I must wait for the sunrise
I must think of a new life
And I mustn’t give in.
When the dawn comes
tonight will be a memory, too
And a new day will begin.

a. Afraid
b. Sarcastic
c. Depressed
d. Hopeful

Answers: 1A 2D 3A 4C 5D 6B 7D 8D 9C 10B 11C 12D 13A 14B 15A 16A 17B 18A 19B 20C 21C 22C 23A 24C 25C 26C 27B 28A 29B 30D


DISCLAIMER: This website believes that education is a right, not a privilege. This portal does not claim ownership to any materials posted. Likewise, questions are not influenced by PRC professional regulatory board. The main purpose of the reviewer is to assist examinees who chose to review online.

110 comments… add one
  • Unknown Aug 18, 2016 @ 8:37

    Asan po ung answers?

    • Anonymous Jan 2, 2017 @ 22:18

      the answer is already published after option or choices…
      You need to read carefully when you do the examination because this might be your problem in the future when you under go examination…

    • Anonymous Mar 11, 2017 @ 15:51

      Dear anonymous1, the reviewers didn't have answers before. Ngayon lang yan.

      -anonymous2

  • Unknown Aug 18, 2016 @ 15:50

    Can we have the answers?

    • Anonymous May 29, 2018 @ 10:50

      sa baba po nung number 30

  • Unknown Aug 19, 2016 @ 13:37

    Can we have the answers?

  • Unknown Aug 20, 2016 @ 4:48

    Where can we find the answers?

  • ALMIRA D Aug 20, 2016 @ 12:27

    We need the answers Please

    • Anonymous Aug 20, 2017 @ 9:52

      already there.. below options of no. 30

  • Unknown Aug 22, 2016 @ 17:49

    Nasaan po yung sagot?

    • Unknown May 31, 2017 @ 7:41

      below each question
      is an answer…

    • Unknown May 31, 2017 @ 7:45

      answers are found below each question. duh!

  • Unknown Aug 26, 2016 @ 2:18

    Answers po?

    • Anonymous May 2, 2017 @ 14:10

      taas kag ilong hehe

  • Krizelle Mae Meñez Aug 28, 2016 @ 17:20

    Can I have the key answers? Please!

  • Anonymous Sep 1, 2016 @ 14:36

    Answers key plz.thankz po

  • Unknown Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:28

    san poh ung answer? thanks

  • ferdinand macob Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:32

    answers..pls!! thanx po

  • Unknown Sep 7, 2016 @ 1:11

    good day PRC..baka po pwedeng pa post ng answer key para sa gen ed uestions..para po mareview namen..thanks and Godbless 🙂

  • Nella Sep 7, 2016 @ 7:21

    answer key po please time consuming if iisa- isahin pa po nmin yung paghahanap sa sagot …

  • Unknown Sep 7, 2016 @ 9:06

    Hello PRC , nasaan po yung answers? hoping for your reply thanks and godbless us all

  • Unknown Sep 9, 2016 @ 9:19

    hello prc..can u give us the answer key plssss

  • Anonymous Sep 10, 2016 @ 9:52

    Can I have the answer key po??

  • Anonymous Sep 12, 2016 @ 15:25

    Answers key po plz.thank u

  • Mika Sep 12, 2016 @ 23:17

    Kindly forward details as to where we can find the answer key.

  • Jhat Sep 14, 2016 @ 2:10

    San po naman pwede makita answer key po?

  • Anonymous Sep 14, 2016 @ 6:55

    answers please

  • Rhea Sep 20, 2016 @ 17:17

    thank you for this 🙂 it will help a lot.

  • Unknown Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:10

    hi po..pwd humingi na answer..salamat po
    ito po yung email add ko: [email protected]

  • Unknown Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:13

    hi po..pwd humingi na answer..salamat po
    ito po yung email add ko: [email protected]

  • Anonymous Jan 3, 2017 @ 20:10

    GUYS THE ANSWER IS ALREADY STATED. It is after the choices. Please read carefully.

    • Anonymous Jan 3, 2018 @ 5:01

      ikaw ang magbasa carefully. 2016 pa nila tinanong yan dahil wala pang nilagay na answers noon

    • Adonis Resma Feb 17, 2018 @ 12:25

      Pwde maka kuha ng answers?

  • Anonymous Jan 24, 2017 @ 7:25

    Oo nga. The answers are already posted. Amazing kasi halos lahat ng mga question dito ay lesson namin last sem. I'm currently a 2nd year college student. I decided to view this reviewer para lang prepared in the future.. Hehe

  • #august Feb 8, 2017 @ 15:36

    hahahaha nakakaloka naman oh. basa-basa din pag may time. 😀

  • #august Feb 8, 2017 @ 15:37

    hahahaha…:D 😀 😀 nakakaloka naman oh. rovided na nga yong key answer, tinatanong pa. basa-basa din pag may time.

    • Anonymous Jan 3, 2018 @ 5:06

      wala pa kasing answers nung tinanong nila. 2016 pa kung nagbabasa ka

  • CherryJaneWeb Feb 28, 2017 @ 10:49

    THANK YOU SO MUCH

  • Unknown Mar 5, 2017 @ 9:26

    GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS 🙂

  • Anonymous Mar 13, 2017 @ 12:24

    thanks!

  • Unknown Apr 1, 2017 @ 12:43

    Salamat po

  • LiV May 22, 2017 @ 16:39

    Can u please check #9, the answer for sure is C.. Tnx!!

    • Anonymous Jul 3, 2018 @ 18:04

      Yup correct it is letter c

  • Unknown Jul 7, 2017 @ 14:21

    thank u…

  • MJ23 Jul 8, 2017 @ 4:27

    how to download this?

  • Anonymous Jul 10, 2017 @ 9:24

    thank you for the reviewer with the answers.

  • Anonymous Jul 13, 2017 @ 12:20

    how can I download these reviewers? thank you

  • Anonymous Jul 14, 2017 @ 4:47

    asan po yung part 2? meron po ba? thank you po

  • Anonymous Jul 15, 2017 @ 7:22

    Hello po panu madownload yung reviewers nyo?

  • Anonymous Jul 17, 2017 @ 10:49

    Thank you for posted the reviewer with answer its a big help for taking the LET…. GOD BLESS
    San po ung part 2

  • jjamilla88 Jul 18, 2017 @ 18:31

    Thanks

  • jjamilla88 Jul 18, 2017 @ 18:33

    Part2 please

  • Anonymous Jul 22, 2017 @ 9:40

    wow my iba akong ntutunan…

  • Anonymous Jul 22, 2017 @ 15:01

    panu po to ma download? 🙂

  • Anonymous Jul 23, 2017 @ 14:35

    Thank u.. i hope that i can pass this let sept.2017.. Godbless..

  • Unknown Jul 28, 2017 @ 15:12

    Answers: 1A 2D 3A 4C 5D 6B 7D 8D 9C 10B 11C 12D 13A 14B 15A 16A 17B 18A 19B 20C 21C 22C 23A 24C 25C 26C 27B 28A 29B 30D

    • Anonymous Aug 12, 2017 @ 10:25

      …is this the correct answer?…:)

  • Unknown Aug 23, 2017 @ 5:47

    Question No. 13 the correct answer is D is NOT A.

    • Anonymous Sep 1, 2017 @ 3:32

      A is correct answer. Metonymy
      noun
      the substitution of the name of an attribute or adjunct for that of the thing meant, for example suit for business executive, or the track for horse racing.

      Personification
      noun: personification
      the attribution of a personal nature or human characteristics to something nonhuman, or the representation of an abstract quality in human form.

  • JhingGirl18 Sep 1, 2017 @ 5:52

    Hehehe natawa ako sa nasagotan ko 16 out of 30..Huhuhu ready naba talaga ako?!😐

    • Anonymous Sep 13, 2017 @ 14:13

      Ate hindi ka nag-iisa hehehe. 🙂 Pray na lng po tayo while studying hard . 😀

  • Anonymous Sep 4, 2017 @ 11:18

    Paano po e download? Thanks

  • Anonymous Sep 10, 2017 @ 16:33

    Can someone explain the answer in item 2 please. I'm quite confused.

  • Unknown Sep 11, 2017 @ 11:47

    thank you po God Bless Us ALL:)

  • Unknown Sep 11, 2017 @ 11:52

    God SPEED:))))

  • Anonymous Sep 16, 2017 @ 2:53

    #18 should be D not A… simple rule for subject-verb agreement.

    • Anonymous Apr 20, 2018 @ 4:25

      true!

    • Anonymous Jul 27, 2018 @ 7:42

      Hi! Correct answer is A. Please see subjunctives 🙂
      Thanks!

  • Cherry (Wandering in Japan) Sep 19, 2017 @ 12:56

    Supposedly the answer of no. 11 question is A. loveliness because pulchritude is beauty. It's not C. homeliness

    • Anonymous Sep 22, 2017 @ 8:15

      EXCEPT po. C. ang tamang sagot

  • Anonymous Sep 19, 2017 @ 14:44

    12. #D

  • Unknown Sep 21, 2017 @ 3:08

    Nasa apps din yung questions na nandito. BLEPT REVIEWER at LET REVIEWER.
    Pero salamat pa rin dahil nag provide kayo ng reviewers para sa amin. God Bless po.

  • Anonymous Sep 25, 2017 @ 4:45

    Thank you po 🙂

  • Sandra May Ong Maclang (王 蘇 翠) Dec 29, 2017 @ 16:07

    Thanks so much for sharing this Reviewer! ^_^

    I have concerns regarding the ANSWER KEY for numbers 2 and 9, though…Can you please check?

    Re: #2, I really think the answer should be letter A (EXPECTED).
    RATIO: The above sentence is a COMPLEX one that contains an independent clause ("Researchers also speculate") modified by a dependent noun clause. Our concern here is the DEPENDENT NOUN CLAUSE ("that some teachers might have given boys more computer time because parents and teachers _expected_ boys to need computers for future careers"). Ignore the word "that" for the moment and treat this as an indivisible whole expressing a complete thought. The whole thing now becomes a COMPLEX sentence by itself (i.e., an independent clause ["some teachers might have given boys more computer time"] joined to the dependent one beginning with "because"). This means that the RULES ON SEQUENCE OF TENSES IN COMPLEX SENTENCES should apply.

    The rule on sequence of tenses for this kind of complex sentence is actually quite simple: If the verb in the INDEPENDENT clause is in the PRESENT PERFECT tense (here, we can consider the main verb to be "[might] HAVE GIVEN"), the subordinate verb in the DEPENDENT clause following it should generally be in the SIMPLE PAST tense. (See attached excerpt from a grammar book I use)

    The answer should therefore be "EXPECTED".

    The ANSWER KEY tells us that it should be "WILL HAVE EXPECTED"—not only is this terribly awkward, but it also has NO support whatsoever in any grammatical text I've encountered thus far. 🙁

    Please correct me talaga if I'm wrong. Confused ako dito sobra. 🙁

    Re: #9, The answer should really be "HAD SEEN" (letter B).
    RATIO: I just went with PAST PERFECT because it's more logical that way. The use of the prepositional phrase "since Christmas" indicates a need for the use of a PERFECT tense. And since both the other independent clause ("it was the first time") AND the subordinate clause ("When I met Liza yesterday") are expressed in the PAST tense, the answer should be "HAD SEEN" (past perfect). Mali ba?

    P.S. Technically, "SAW" (simple past) is also correct, but past perfect is still the better option.

    "HAVE seen" (present perfect), is just…wrong…

    PLEASE EXPLAIN WHY THE ANSWERS ARE OTHERWISE…Thanks!!! ^_^

    • Anonymous Jul 27, 2018 @ 8:07

      "When I met Liza yesterday, it was the first time I _____ her since Christmas."
      .
      .
      .
      Hello, for #9, my answer is C- have seen, which is in its Present Perfect Tense. I was thinking that the action (seeing Liza) indicates that it extended to the present; although, I also find your explanation logical. 🙂

  • Sandra May Ong Maclang (王 蘇 翠) Dec 29, 2017 @ 16:17

    Re: #2
    Here's how I understand the rules of grammar po kasi:

    CORRECT: "Researchers also speculate that some teachers MIGHT HAVE GIVEN boys more computer time because parents and teachers EXPECTED boys to need computers for future careers."
    —> Treating the DEPENDENT NOUN CLAUSE (i.e., "that some teachers MIGHT HAVE GIVEN boys more computer time because parents and teachers EXPECTED boys to need computers for future careers.") as a COMPLEX sentence unto itself, where the MAIN verb is in the PRESENT PERFECT. (Please see and )

    INCORRECT: "Researchers also speculate that some teachers might have given boys more computer time because parents and teachers WILL HAVE EXPECTED boys to need computers for future careers."
    —>We don't grammatically accept complex sentences using FUTURE PERFECT as the SUBORDINATE verb. It can only exist as the main verb.

    Please check and correct me if mali…I need basis po talaga sana.

  • Anonymous Jan 15, 2018 @ 9:22

    FIGURE OF SPEECH

    PERSONIFICATION – giving human attributes to an inanimate object (animal, idea, etc.)
    Example: The sun is looking down on me.

    METONYMY – an association wherein the name of something is substituted by something that represents it.
    Example: Toothpaste is sometimes called Colgate.

  • Anonymous Jan 17, 2018 @ 13:15

    updated na po ba ito?
    TIA

  • Adonis Resma Feb 17, 2018 @ 12:23

    Paanu ba mg download iyan?

  • Anonymous Apr 12, 2018 @ 10:30

    thank you .malaking help

  • Unknown Jun 1, 2018 @ 14:13

    I tried to answer, i got 15 correct answers out of 30

    • Unknown Dec 10, 2018 @ 6:58

      hahaha same here

  • Anonymous Jun 2, 2018 @ 11:25

    just a clarification. are you sure number 18 is stay not stays?

  • Unknown Jun 24, 2018 @ 23:09

    Thank you po for this review questionnaire which is very helpful to us.

  • Anonymous Jul 26, 2018 @ 2:20

    Bakit po sa #21 c.pronouns ang answer?

  • Unknown Aug 5, 2018 @ 12:04

    I'm confuse with #18. I think "stays" is the correct answer because the sentence uses 'he' which is singular. Kindly check please.

  • Anonymous Aug 12, 2018 @ 8:02

    Can you review the answer no. 18?

  • Unknown Oct 2, 2018 @ 14:45

    I got 21/30..

  • Unknown Dec 14, 2018 @ 8:37

    I just try almost 16 years nku out of school as OFW ng try ako not BAD 12/30 for the 1st time..hehehhehe needs more practise na tlga!! thanks!

  • Unknown Dec 20, 2018 @ 13:10

    Hello!
    Can I have the copy of these? Or can I have the copy of answers key, so I can know the correct answers.
    Thank you.

  • Eloi Jan 28, 2019 @ 4:35

    can i download a pdf file of this? if yes please guide me how to? im afraid im not a technology expert. thanks

  • Unknown May 6, 2019 @ 14:15

    Where can i find the answer

  • jez Jun 6, 2019 @ 8:47

    bakit po stay ung sa 18?

  • Unknown Jul 9, 2019 @ 8:25

    Answers: 1A 2D 3A 4C 5D 6B 7D 8D 9C 10B 11C 12D 13A 14B 15A 16A 17B 18A 19B 20C 21C 22C 23A 24C 25C 26C 27B 28A 29B 30D

  • Unknown Jul 15, 2019 @ 11:50

    # 18..yes…tama .. it is stay….subjunctive mood of verb (request, wish, suggestion,, the verb must be in base form.

  • Unknown Aug 7, 2019 @ 13:39

    saan po yong answer po.

  • Anonymous Sep 8, 2019 @ 15:39

    Very helpful 🙂

  • Unknown Oct 8, 2019 @ 4:27

    thanks for this..how to download?

  • Unknown Dec 17, 2019 @ 3:36

    how to download this reviewer po?

  • Unknown Jan 11, 2020 @ 2:03

    I only got 22 out of 30 but i have question regarding item #18. Can u please elaborate the answer? It confuses me. Thank you.

  • Unknown Jan 17, 2020 @ 14:06

    Paano po i download

  • Unknown Jan 28, 2020 @ 7:04

    Pwede ba syang iprint? for hard copy. thanks

  • Unknown Feb 20, 2020 @ 3:38

    Thanks for the reviewer…i hope all question and answers will come out on the testing.

  • Unknown Feb 22, 2020 @ 7:54

    Thank you po.

  • Unknown Mar 12, 2020 @ 0:13

    di po ba puwedeng iprint?
    thanks

  • xx-spphr-tn Mar 22, 2020 @ 5:20

    No. 18 why is it "stay" rather than "stays"?

  • no name Mar 25, 2020 @ 13:23

    pwede po bang malaman kung pano idownload? gusto ko po sanang iprint. salamat po sa tutugon.

  • Unknown Apr 21, 2020 @ 3:06

    Paano po ba e download to?

  • Unknown May 4, 2020 @ 12:13

    Thank you so much

  • Unknown May 11, 2020 @ 7:40

    Pano ma download?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.