LET Reviewer General Education GenEd: English Part 2

In this website you will find the LET Reviewers in General Education (Gen Ed), Professional Education (Prof Ed) and Area of Specialization.

Below is the LET Reviewer for General Education GENED: English Part 2. The following questions were provided, authorized and approved to be posted by the author, Dr. Carl E. Balita and CBRC.

Note: The LET reviewers 2021 below is unofficial and not directly associated with PRC or the Board of Professional Teachers.

September 2021 LET Related Articles

We encourage the readers/ reviewees to use the comment box after the article for discussion. Meanwhile, answers are already incorporated below the questions.

1. He is more concerned with MUNDANE matters like the movement of stock market. The capitalized word means:
A. Simple
B. Financial
C. Worldly
D. Investments

2. The DEPRAVITY of the criminal’s behavior shocked us all. The capitalized word means:
A. Harshness
B. Gravity
C. Deprivations
D. Viciousness

3. INDULGENT parents spoil their children by giving in to their every demands and whims.
A. Loving
B. Beneficial
C. Generous
D. Yielding

4. Open:Secretive::Forthright: __________
A. Spiteful
B. Mask
C. Outspoken
D. Honest

5. Negligent; Requirement:: Remiss :__________
A. Task
B. Duty
C. Injury
D. Problem

6. It is _________ to try to destroy pest completely with pesticides, for as each new chemical pesticide is introduced, the pests gradually become _________ to it.
A. useless, drawn
B. futile, resistant
C. worthwhile, immune
D. pointless, vulnerable

7. The famous Dr. C. Drew’s technique for preserving and storing blood plasma for emergency use proved so _________ that it became the _______ for the present blood bank system by the Red Cross.
A. irrelevant, inspiration
B. effective, model
C. complex, blueprint
D. urgent, pattern

8. An A-rating represents the ULTIMATE honor a film will ever have. Which of the following is the opposite of the capitalized word?
A. Greatest
B. Pinnacle
C. Least
D. Supreme

9. The VINDICTIVE politician spread rumors about his opponent. Which of the following is an antonym of the capitalized word?
A. Revengeful
B. Forgiving
C. Spiteful
D. Malicious

10. Vegetarians have a variety of reasons for their beliefs. Some refuse to eat meat because they believe that the killing of animals is unnecessary or barbaric. They feel that processes such as butchering are degrading to the people who practice them and cruel to the animals slaughtered. Others believe that meat is harmful to the human body and that a purely vegetable diet is more nutritious. Still others choose vegetarianism because they believe that raising animals for meat is an inefficient use of land. They say that farmland could be put to better use growing crops for human consumption. Which of the following statements is best supported by the above passage?
A. Some vegetarians choose not to eat meat mainly for health reasons.
B. A purely vegetable diet is more nutritious than a diet that includes meat.
C. Vegetarians are opposed to any use of animals for the benefit of humans.
D. Vegetarians favor laws to reduce the consumption of meat.

11. The amount of your retirement benefits from Social Security depends, in part, on when you retire. The earliest that you can begin to receive benefits is age 62. The longer you wait to begin receiving benefits (up to age 70), the higher your benefits will be. If you were born between 1938 and 1960, you cannot receive “full retirement” benefits until age 66. If you were born in 1960 or later, your full retirement age will be 67. If you wait to receive benefits past your full retirement age, the amount you receive will continue to increase until you reach age 70. There is no advantage to waiting past age 70 to begin receiving benefits. You can continue to work while you receive retirement benefits. If you do, the amount of your benefits will be reduced by one dollar for every two dollars you earn above a certain limit, until you reach your full retirement age. Once you reach your full retirement age, this limit no longer applies. The amount you earn will have no effect on your benefits. According to this passage, which of the following statements is true?
A. You cannot receive retirement benefits from Social Security while you are still working.
B. If you were born in 1950, your full retirement age is 66.
C. If you continue to work past your full retirement age, your benefits will be reduced by one dollar for every two dollars you earn.
D. There is no advantage to waiting past your full retirement age to begin receiving benefits.

12. The volunteers from the fire department ________ quickly and extinguished a fire on North Country Road.
A. will respond
B. responded
C. will have responded
D. have responded

13. In Tuesday’s paper, the owner of the supermarket was recognized for helping a customer who ________ on the icy sidewalk.
A. falls
B. had fallen
C. would fall
D. has fallen

14. We arranged the flowers and placed ________ in the center of the table.
A. them
B. it
C. this
D. that

15. The person ________ made this delicious cheesecake has my vote.
A. that
B. who
C. which
D. whose

16. Being too _______ will undoubtedly make other men hate you.
A. vane
B. vein
C. vain
D. vanity

17. Because they did not accept his basic _______ they were ______ by his argument.
A. assumption, convinced
B. bias, impressed
C. supposition, justified
D. motivation, confused

18. The failed July 27, 2003 mutiny was believed by many as a plan by the Magdalo group as an attempt to stage a takeover of government. It was viewed as a desperate attempt by the mutineers who were supported by influential and politically motivated men who financed the mutiny, according to the Feliciano Commission. The action was found to be unconstitutional as it violates both the Articles of War and the Revised Penal Code. Such act can lead to either Court Martial or Civilian proceedings or even both. The best title for the above article is:
A. Failed Mutiny
B. Illegal Soldiers Uprising
C. Coup d’etat
D. Articles of War and Punishment

19. Determine which may be the best order in which the sentences should be arranged to result in a well- organized paragraph.
A. Now we shall do everything we can to enforce this law.
B. In the struggle against crime, government and people should join hands
C. Republic Act 7659, the death penalty law is government’s response in law against cruelty and heartlessness.
D. The law’s main objective is not retribution but reform and rehabilitation of offenders and would be offenders.
E. All countries in the world are presently siege by violent crime.

A. CEBAD
B. EBCDA
C. CEDAB
D. ACEBD

20. Determine which may be the best order in which the sentences should be arranged to result in a well- organized paragraph.
A. Tagaytay is the destination for us who love nature.
B. It provides an ideal picnic ground for outdoor lovers.
C. Unfortunately, the place ends up abused by outdoor lovers who litter the place.
D. It is a place which can be easily reached by a two-hour drive from Makati City.

Disclaimer

This website believes that education is a right, not a privilege. This portal does not claim ownership to any materials posted. Likewise, questions are not influenced by PRC professional regulatory board. The main purpose of the reviewer is to assist examinees who chose to review online.

56 comments… add one
  • Anonymous Jul 25, 2017 @ 13:30

    Ang sagot po sa #8 ay letter D(Supreme). Ang ultimate at supreme ay parehas na absolute terms.

    • Anonymous Jul 26, 2017 @ 3:26

      E opposite naman po kasi yong tinatanong eh antonym hndi synonym kaya C

    • Anonymous Jul 30, 2017 @ 14:25

      Correction on the answers. Please, let us help each other in discussing the correct answers to avoid confusion:
      1. C
      4. B
      6. B
      7. B
      10. C
      11. The main idea should focus on the retirement age in a given year( which all the options are unrelated based on my opinion)
      13. B
      17. A
      18. A

    • Anonymous Jul 31, 2017 @ 15:03

      BUT THE QUESTION OF #8 IS THE OPPOSITE OF THE CAPITALIZED WORD SO THE ANSWER IS C.

    • Anonymous Sep 4, 2017 @ 6:24

      ano po ba talaga ang sagot?

    • Sandra May Ong Maclang (王 蘇 翠) Dec 29, 2017 @ 17:05

      Hi! I AGREE with you on numbers 4, 6, and 7. The answers there should really be letter B.

      I have to disagree with you regarding the rest, though:

      #1) A is really the nearest synonym for the word MUNDANE in the context used ("He is more concerned with MUNDANE matters like the movement of stock market" can perhaps be paraphrased thus: He is more concerned with EVERYDAY/humdrum/ordinary/day-to-day/run-of-the-mill/commonplace matters like the movement of the stockmarket.) CBRC really should have chosen a better synonym to use as an option, but it really isn't used here to mean "worldly". To use "mundane" in the latter context would be to contrast something with the heavenly/spiritual realm, e.g. "According to the Shinto doctrine, spirits of the dead can act upon the mundane world." Ayun lang po. ^_^

      #10. The only option best supported by the passage is letter A. The problem with letter C is that it uses the phrase "to ANY use of animals for the benefit of humans." The passage only talks about how vegetarians are opposed to EATING animals. It says nothing about using them in OTHER WAYS to benefit humans. They likely aren't opposed to carabaos used in plowing fields or dogs used to guide the blind. ^_^

      #11. I really don't get your concern with this item, sorry…

      #13. Uhm…the answer key says B. Tama tayo rito, p're. ^_^

      #17. The most acceptable option is really letter D. "Because they did not accept his basic MOTIVATION, they were CONFUSED by his argument." Translated, "Dahil hindi nila maintindihan ang kanyang PINANGGAGALINGAN, NALITO sila sa kanyang argumento." ^_^ If A kasi, plugging those words into the given sentence would result in a LOGICAL FALLACY. You just CANNOT be CONVINCED by an argument BECAUSE you DID NOT ACCEPT its BASIC ASSUMPTION. Buti sana kung "assumption, UNconvinced" yung option A. 'Yun sana, puwede. ^_^

      #18. Haha! Mali rin ako jan. I answered A too. I really don't know if there's an objective rule in choosing a title. Parang too subjective, right? Actually, NONE of the ABOVE talaga kung ako. BORING lahat! A title should capture an audience's attention while at the same time summing up the article's gist. I'd probably title it "Failed Government Takeover Attempt Puts MAGDALO Group in Serious Legal Hotwater" or something to that effect :p Upon further reflection, however, I decided that CBRC has a point—the article talks about the possible charges the Magdalo Group is facing for their actions. They can either be charged with MUTINY, COUP D'ETAT, or transgressions under the ARTICLES of WAR. One thing is for certain: It was an ILLEGAL UPRISING of SOLDIERS. ^_^

      Lemme know if you disagree. Hope you do well sa Boards!!! ^_^

    • Anonymous Jan 7, 2018 @ 14:30

      #6 is C. ung word na 'completely' ang nagdala. Agree ako sa #7 at #4

      • Ma. Sheena J. Ceriales Mar 12, 2022 @ 12:03

        Please Check my Answer. And Let me know the correct answers. Thanks! God Bless!
        1.D 2.A 3. A 4.C 5.B 6.C 7.B 8.D 9.D 10.C 11.C 12.B 13.D 14.B 15.B 16.C 17.D 18.B 19.A 20.B

    • Anonymous May 22, 2018 @ 20:07

      I totally agree with Ms. Sandra!

  • Anonymous Aug 9, 2017 @ 7:02

    tam po b no. 18?

  • Anonymous Aug 10, 2017 @ 9:30

    Nasaan po yung answer key??

  • Unknown Aug 23, 2017 @ 5:53

    thanks for more information po it helps me a lot

  • Unknown Aug 27, 2017 @ 5:10

    thanks po ..

  • Anonymous Sep 9, 2017 @ 12:53

    Thank you for the corrections mga kababayan. magandang buhay!

  • Anonymous Sep 16, 2017 @ 3:40

    1.C
    4.B
    6. B
    7. B
    10. C
    18. A

    Should I follow my instincts or what?

    • Anonymous Sep 22, 2017 @ 13:12

      I also had the same answers as yours on numbers 6, 7, 18 and I think if they appear in the Board, I'd stick to what I feel is right.

    • Anonymous Oct 22, 2017 @ 9:17

      Why is your answer in number 4 is B ?

  • Sydney Seiren Sep 19, 2017 @ 5:05

    Although I agree that MUNDANE means Worldly… Shouldn't we consider how it is used? In this context, it suggests that the correct answer is really Letter A.

    • Anonymous Sep 22, 2017 @ 13:13

      Mundane means ordinary. Worldly is to carnal. A is correct.

    • Anonymous Oct 15, 2017 @ 3:33

      Yes it is. A is the correct answer. Since the word mundane means ordinary(simple). Who said it was C?

  • Anonymous Sep 21, 2017 @ 14:14

    Ang cute tignan lahat ng english majors dito

  • Anonymous Nov 24, 2017 @ 0:54

    nice reviewer

  • Anonymous Dec 1, 2017 @ 16:37

    Number 1 should be letter C (mundane is worldly)

  • Sandra May Ong Maclang (王 蘇 翠) Dec 29, 2017 @ 17:14

    Numbers 4,6, and 7 should really be letter B…

    • Jennifer Cavada Jan 18, 2018 @ 12:05

      I agree with you!

  • Anonymous Jan 17, 2018 @ 6:09

    I trust all the answers were strictly validated by the authors of this reviewer.

  • Anonymous Jan 18, 2018 @ 8:26

    PLEASE CORRECT ME WITH MY ANSWERS PLEASE : 1.C 2.D 3.C 4.B 5.B 6.B 7.B 8.C 9.B 10.A 11.D 12.B 13.B 14.A 15.B 16.C 17.D 18.B .19.B 20.B

  • Jennifer Cavada Jan 18, 2018 @ 12:07

    Number #6 should be a letter B.

  • Sinoda Frias Feb 13, 2018 @ 5:04

    hehehe so it means mga sir and mam tama ang answer key kesa dun s mga answer na binigay nyo?

    peace po im only asking lng po

  • Anonymous Mar 6, 2018 @ 8:45

    #8 ultimate is D. Supreme

    • Anonymous Mar 16, 2018 @ 10:28

      Number 8 asked for the opposite (antonym) of the given word. Ultimate and Supreme have the same meaning, so the answer can't be Supreme. The correct answer is C – Least.

  • Unknown Mar 18, 2018 @ 13:03

    yung number 4 po, hindi po ba Honest ang sagot doon

  • Unknown May 25, 2018 @ 6:27

    MUNDANE means worldly, why simple?

  • Anonymous May 25, 2018 @ 7:07

    SANA MABIGAY NIYO PO YUNG TAMANG ANSWERS

  • Unknown Jun 1, 2018 @ 14:54

    HELLO PO,, ASK KO LANG OUT OF 30 KANINA SA TEST A NAKA 15 AKO KALAHATI, DITO NAMAN SA TES B NEW NAKA 10 AKO KALAHATI DIN.. PASA NA BA AKO NYAN? HEHE

  • Unknown Jun 3, 2018 @ 14:33

    hi guys! these are my answers. i'm open for corrections. 🙂

    1. C.
    2. D. Depravity-being evil or vicious.
    3. C. Indulgent-willing to allow someone to have something. So it's like generosity.
    4. C. Forthright-direct without hesitations therefore it's being outspoken.
    5. I honestly don't get the idea here.
    6. B. Futile-pointless/resistent-to resist.
    7. B. Of course they won't use complex blood bank system right?
    8. C.
    9. C. Vindictive-someone who likes to cause harm. Spiteful.
    10. A. I'm not sure but I think most of the vegetarians prefer veggies for health purposes. Other choices are kinda true too. What dyou think?
    11. B. Also not sure with this.
    12. B.
    13. B.
    14. A.
    15. B.
    16. C.
    17. D. I guess the 1st word should somehow be a positive word and the 2nd should be negative. The others just don't fit. Again correct me if i'm wrong. Hahah!
    18. A. Hahah! The first line says it. The failed blah blah.
    19. B.
    20. B.

    That's it. God bless!

  • Unknown Sep 22, 2018 @ 0:51

    Godbless hoping na mag match yung ni review ko sa lalabas sa exam😇☝☝

  • Anonymous Sep 22, 2018 @ 15:04

    Thank you so much for this reviewer.
    Magsayo, Sheila Gonzales ❤

  • Unknown Sep 28, 2018 @ 1:34

    number 6: B
    number 7: B

  • Justcameheretoreview Apr 8, 2019 @ 10:41

    I believe that the correct answer for number 3 is letter D. Yielding. Generosity is different from allowing or satisfying one's needs. If you search up the word, you won't see a word GENEROUS from its meaning.

  • Unknown Jan 11, 2020 @ 2:47

    Hi there!!! I got 14 out of 20 but I have favor regarding items #1,4 & 7. Can you please try to review it if the answers to these items are correct? It confuses me. Hoping for your response. Thank you in advance.

    • Anonymous Jan 8, 2022 @ 18:34

      San niyo po nakuha yung answer key?

    • Anonymous Mar 17, 2022 @ 21:43

      Can you share the answers with us? Thank you.

  • Anonymous Sep 4, 2021 @ 23:30

    hi

    good luck TEACHERS

  • Anonymous Oct 12, 2021 @ 22:25

    saan po ang mga sagot???

  • Rizal Ryan Jan 5, 2022 @ 11:26

    Wala po bang answer key?

  • Ariel Feb 10, 2022 @ 11:34

    Hi, it would be better if there is an answer key so that we could evaluate and check our answers.

  • Anonymous Mar 24, 2022 @ 14:25

    2022 na wala pa po ba answer key? haha

    • Anonymous May 19, 2022 @ 12:16

      sa 2023 pa daw. sa new curriculum HAHA

  • Anonymous Mar 24, 2022 @ 14:27

    1a 2d 3c 4a 5b 6c 7c 8c 9b 10a 11b 12b 13b 14a 15b 16c 17d 18b 19b 20b
    just sharing..

  • Anonymous Mar 26, 2022 @ 16:08

    1C 2D 3C 4B 5B 6B 7B 8C 9B 10C 11D 12B 13B 14B 15B 16C 17D 18B 19B 20ADBC (ORDER OF THE SENTENCE)

    Kindly check if I am correct 🙂

  • Aluja Apr 4, 2022 @ 15:18

    Answers: 1A 2D 3C 4A 5B 6C 7C 8C 9B 10A 11B 12B 13B 14A 15B 16C 17D 18B 19B 20B BTW, I got this from another source. I don’t know if this is correct but try to read and check each item PREFERABLY.

  • Anonymous May 17, 2022 @ 14:26

    Pls give the true and right answer para no confusion

  • Anonymous Jul 1, 2022 @ 19:25

    answer key pls

  • Anonymous Jul 15, 2022 @ 11:35

    Can i have a key to correction for this?

  • Anonymous Aug 4, 2022 @ 20:31

    Where is the answer?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.